A Movie That I Hope You’ll See- Adam

Standard

Occasionally I run across a movie that sticks in my mind and heart. That happened last night with a Netflix movie called Adam. I hope you will see it. Not for kids perhaps, there are some intimate scenes, but deep. It follows the story of a young man trying to adapt and grow living with Aspergers. He meets a girl who takes the time to really see him. The whole story of what it might be like to live in a world, knowing you are “different” touched my heart profoundly. It makes me broken to know how many people we must come in contact with that we have no idea, none, what they struggle with to function. With so many people with Autism and the full spectrum of people who fall within that, I pray that we are each haunted by this story. That it sticks in our heart and we look at people a bit closer. Accept them on their terms. Enjoy the gifts they have to offer.

Adam

 From Netflix website:

Adam

2009PG-1399 minutes

When beautiful teacher Beth (Rose Byrne) moves into a nearby apartment, strangely awkward Adam (Hugh Dancy), who suffers from Asperger’s syndrome, breaks through his limited social abilities and flirts with the young woman in this moving romance. Beth responds to Adam’s unusual courtship, and as they overcome the obstacles to intimacy, they learn how to face life’s other challenges. Max Mayer directs, while Peter Gallagher and Amy Irving co-star.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

Leave a Reply

