Small Chicken, Big Yields

Standard

I have started a new habit of picking up Rotisserie chickens from Costco when I go. I think they are larger than many stores, and the price can’t be beat at 4.99 per chicken. Thinking ahead, I picked up two. 45 minutes spent in the kitchen yielded 10 cups of shredded white meat chicken. Juicy, already flavorful, and most importantly, already cooked.

Then thinking about saving more money, I tossed all of the carcass and juice from the bottom of the package in the crock pot. Added carrot, celery, bay leaf and seasoning and turned it on. A few hours later, we drained it, put 2 cups of cooled broth into quart size bags and wound up with 8 cups of chicken broth as well.

Now, 10 cups of chicken and 8 cups of broth is worth my time (very little) and we now have the base of many meals. For example this month we will  have Cinnamon Chicken Salad, Stir Fry, Tacos, and Pot Pie. I could also last-minute make Chicken and Dumplings or Chicken and Rice soup quickly!

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

5 responses »

  1. The Kroger where I live marks down the ready-to-eat chicken all the time–about $2.99. I pick them up and freeze them. Sometimes I bone them to make a chicken salad. They also mark down the milk quite often. I get the skim and freeze it. It works out just fine. I freeze the others, too, but some might not like them as much due the fat not freezing as well. I just love your idea of making broth! I had never even considered it. Thanks, again!

    Joyfully,
    Jackie
    My Attempt at Blogging

    • Thanks! That is a smokin’ deal for chicken! I have never tried to freeze milk, but I like the idea. We get fat free always…sometimes it is actually on sale and I know will pick some up. Do you open it first to let some out (and a small amount of expansion room) or just as is?

  2. I freeze it as is and it works great. I try to stand it up in the freezer, but sometimes lay it down and never have problems.

    If anyone freezes the other (higher fat content) just be sure to shake well to try to remix it. Guess you could strain out the fat and use the other as fat free. Would work great in baking too.

    Sometimes I get the marked down milk between 75-89 cents for a half gallon and $1.99 for a gallon. My family is a huge milk drinking family (husband and daughter). I live out in the country and the small town milk is way too expensive, so I buy a couple of gallons when I’m in town and ALWAYS buy the marked down milk so I have some on hand when I’m out.

    Joyfully,
    Jackie

Leave a Reply

