She Who Laughs, Laughs Alone?

Standard

What was that saying? “She who laughs, laughs alone”…or was it  “Laugh and the world laughs with you”?

Apparently neither is correct. A more suitable phrase might be “She who laughs alone makes people un-comfort-able”.

I have a knack for laughing at inopportune times. For example, quiet situations. Tragic movie scenes. Thinking of something funny from 20 years ago. At nothing at all, which strikes me as all the more hilarious.

Tonight at dinner this unfortunate skill presented itself during prayer times, prompting one of my children to end with “…and please make Mommy quit laughing. Amen.”

What was I laughing at? All I can guess is that being sick for a week cooped up the giggles. Something about the way my chicken was arranged on my plate seemed similar to the placement of my potato. Yep. That was what started it.

Once the giggles start, I am literally helpless to stop. I have a wonderful quirky sense of humor, but even the funniest jokes seldom make me laugh out loud. But give me no good reason? I will laugh until my stomach aches.

Then, something about my daughters features reminded me of something funny (to me, not the rest of the family) that my Grandpa used to do at the dinner table. No “real” correlation, but enough. Here’s to you Grandpa.

Thankfully God didn’t answer this prayer. After all, He gave me the humor to enjoy life with. I do think, however, that a little tweaking might be appreciated.

For some reason, these are the times my companions laugh for entirely different reasons. As long as we are both laughing, um, right?

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

One response »

Leave a Reply

