The Cycle of Life

Standard

Today was a stark realization about the speed of our days.

My child got her driving permit today. Nearing womanhood at an alarming pace. (To me, that is). A child some days prances around, while a mature young woman sits in the same room an hour later.

I visited a friend with a brand new baby today at the hospital… beautiful and strong. Yet, frail. His precious young body tender and dependant upon others to care for him.

A loved one called this afternoon to share an unexpected surprise in her fight against cancer. She, who is tough and efficient in her daily life, is reduced to the mercy of a surgeon’s steady hand and modern medicine. Praying.

My own body which housed a young woman so recently looks back at me from the mirror with new characteristics I don’t recognize. Aging comes.

We sometimes get wrapped up in the fullness of our days, thinking upon all the things we must do and accomplish. Slow down. Enjoy the moment. They are all powerful gifts. What a beautiful thing it is to recognize the frailty in our lives. With it comes sincere awe at the handiwork of our God.

True enough, I was running as fast as the next today, but no more. Reflection brings me back to the core values I hold so dear. The life around me. Enjoying life in the physical sense of my world. Life in the spiritual sense connecting with God. Life in the gifts of holding my loved ones close tonight. Not wasting a moment running blind. I will see

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

2 responses »

  1. Whoa, Christa! Heavy! Funny thing though…. yesterday I was scanning through old photos and found one of you and Kiera , newly-born. I studied that sweet little elfin face and marveled at the bouncy pretty talented girl she had grown to be… God’s work indeed ! Then today I read your blog, and remembered the page I had done for Brenna a couple of years ago , the “Turn Around” one. “….and now you’re a young girl going out of the door.” Time is so precious, and it goes so quickly; how can we bear to waste a minute?! And yet… there are flowers to smell, and children to watch… that’s all part of it too, isn’t it?
    BTW, your “loved one” called this morning. Everything is fine. Her doctor suggested she stay in the hospital another day so she could get her anti-biotics through an IV rather than pills. They work faster and better that way. so she’ll have a real r & r day, and come home tomorrow.
    Love you!
    Gram

Leave a Reply

