Who Knew I’d Love World Domination?

Standard

Last week I took a questionnaire designed to help identify  strengths for use in leadership. Empathy was at the top, not that surprisingly to me, competitiveness was dead last. I played a game called Risk with my family the other day for the first time. You should know, strategy games are my least favorite kind. Keeping my attention focused on developing any strategy is difficult. In fact, I had mentioned to a friend that I had to get off our phone call and play Risk. She laughed. Hard. “You?” she said. Hmphhh.

Imagine the shock to my family when I started taking over the whole world. I giggled at having all my pieces covering one country. Twiddled my thumbs with delight at two countries. By the third country, everyone’s shoulders were slumped as I ran for my camera just to document how pretty it looked with so much yellow! I’m not kidding. My husband says I am the worst winner ever. Doubtful. I know a few worse offenders.

To my way of thinking a poor winner gloats in a “ha ha, you guys all stink!” sort of way. My mind really did think “hooray” but not in any way except delight that “I” was actually winning and I couldn’t wait to show my brother! That simple. I will however take to heart, that bringing a camera out to document your excitement over winning can be misunderstood. Upon further reflection here, perhaps there was some truth in my husband’s words? Who knew I’d love world domination? Empathy #1? It might have just gotten bumped down to #2 as Competitiveness (as it always does) nudged into a higher spot.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

Leave a Reply

