Birthday “Beauty…”

Standard

Margaret Wolfe Hungerford is quoted as saying “Beauty is altogether in the eyes of the beholder.”

My family has been honored to celebrate my Grandma’s 81st birthday this week. She has come to stay with us for a visit, giving us the privilege of doting on her for the entire day. Grandma has taught me so much about observing the beauty in life around you. Barely a few steps can be taken, without her noticing the amazing in the seemingly mundane.  This influence has been a gift. To have someone to share the joy in the dailies. The delight of what could be. The wisdom to seek that delight out when life is crushing in. There have been countless times when I just didn’t want this perspective, I’d rather have crumbled. She would not accept that, and I have learned valuable lessons.  This woman has been through so many trials, and indeed, triumphs. If I could sum up beauty in a person, my Grandma would certainly top the list.

Happy Birthday…I love you Grandma

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

