Who Do You Turn To?

Standard

Life is hard. It doesn’t matter how much we try to make things just right. To create and carefully craft a living that is always safe. To find permanent refuge without difficult choices. I know, I have tried all of this in vain.

Sometimes life feels perfect, and we are stunned with the beauty of it. Gratitude becomes the core of our being. This is the way I’d prefer to stay. Maybe. If that were the case, would my faith ever be tested? Would I be able to develop the strength to lean into the storms with confidence of surviving?

My hope is not in this life. My safety, nor yours, lies in the comforts of home. Our family is going to enter another season of challenge. One perspective shines brightly with the delight of possibility. The other, the more natural one, edges my soul with fear. The “what ifs” want to creep in and destroy the peace. Having weathered storms reminds me that God has never let us down. Never. I look back with reflection, gathering the bits and pieces of wisdom gleaned from the harvest of challenge.

We have a choice. Cowardice or courage. God is the provider of courage, He is not the author of fear. We will press into His comfort, and press on in the storms. Faith is the navigation for life. The sure thing as life batters against us.

Isaiah 41:13  For I am the LORD your God who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

3 responses »

  1. Praying for you and your family as you face these new challenges. May God give you wisdom and insight to see His blessings where ever He leads. By the way, the verse you referenced is one I wrote on the cover of my health notebook when I removed the St. John’s Cancer Center cover. He is faithful.

Leave a Reply

