Interpretive Canoeing…Within Paddling Distance

Standard

The longer I live, the more I realize there are just too many hobbies to choose from. It is impossible to be involved in hula contests, racing mini bikes, ghost hunting, or frying new things like Koolaid or butter. But…I am starting a campaign to bring back freestyle canoeing. You haven’t heard of it? Hmm, odd.

Nevertheless, after watching it on TV last week I was fascinated. Partly by the actual sport and mostly by the passionate participants. Their excitement was contagious and after all, Peninsula, Ohio must not be too far from my home.

It isn’t as easy as it looks apparantly (and having canoed in recent years, we could barely balance the thing), scoring is based on technical and artistic skills. And whatever you do, avoid Bobbling. It reeks of amatuer.

“Freestyle Canoeing-

Obedience Training For Your Canoe”

http://www.freestylecanoeing.com/index.html

Picture from google

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

One response »

  1. I have fond memories of the canoe trip Billie and I made with Sierra Club back in the 80s. We went from Blythe to Yuma, over a hundred miles, on the Colorado River, camping overnight along the way. It was wonderful…

Leave a Reply

