We Don’t Have To Answer For Christmas

Standard

I was invited to witness an exchange last week between two people, we’ll call them A and B. Person A was sending an email out to let people know, again, why he chooses not to celebrate Christmas. This man tells all who will listen about his devotion to God, yet can sometimes offend by his statements. Person B listened, and responded. I found this exchange to be interesting enough to share, with permission, because it highlights words often heard. The response of B seemed thoughtful and reminded me that our goals as followers of Christ is to share His teachings, not preach our own gospel.

Person A:

Hi … not to make any mad or spoil your season, but couldn’t pass sending this link (…..) to you for review.  If nothing else you’ll see why I no longer celebrate Christmas … you can leave it or you can challenge me.  It’s your call …  I’m not trying to convice anyone to see my way … you decide what is truth and what will honor God.  Bless you and I mean just that, according to His Word and according to His compassion, Person A

Person B:

technically- all this info is not new news….but being technically right does not necessarily touch hearts or change lives. Christmas and the celebration of Jesus’ birth and life should be for us -every day. but as the verse says…for God so loved the world that He gave his only begotten son- that whosoever shall believe in HIM shall have eternal life….it does not say- that whosoever believes in the right doctrine or correct facts about historical evidence of christianity. be careful  that you become so intellectually correct and historically accurate- but lose the hearts of others and the spirit of the One that created and fulfilled the law. I am not trying to make you mad or spoil your season either….maybe instead of not celebrating christmas at all….one should celebrate it every day of the year???

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

3 responses »

  1. Why not do both? Follow his teachings as a way of life, and celebrate the fact that He did come to earth and share His life with us and die for us that we might be free and be blessed for knowing Him.

Leave a Reply

