One Month To Live

Standard

Every once in a while a book changes my life, propels it forward in such a way that I am stunned by it’s power. A friend recommended this book after her church went through it together, and it sat on my shelf collecting dust for over a year. I am so glad I picked it up and have dedicated the last month to completing it. One Month To Live by Kerry and Chris Shook is amazing. The concept is simple- if you had one month left to live, what would you change? This offers a daily challenge. They have a knack for speaking in a way that draws the reader in and convinces them that change is necessary and possible. Life is too short to ignore this.

This last year has been one of seeking for a deeper purpose. It struck me that we, as individuals, don’t spend near enough time being curious about WHO we are. What are we here for? What are our gifts? Imagine with me the potential of our communities spending time reflecting on these ideas, and then changing to live to the fullest based on our unique purpose? That is where I am at. I promise you its the most challenging time you will ever spend, and the most fulfilling.  Finding out who you are, not based on anyone’s expecations, just God’s. This year will be unique.  I would say that my life has been rich and full. Difficult and rewarding. Always looking to live life in a purposeful way.

But this year? I anticipate exciting new directions. The inner searching has produced a focus that I’ve never experienced. The goals are clear and set before me, and I am ready to run the race. Not my plan, but God’s.

Ephesians 2:10 For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for use to do

2 Corinthians 6:1 (Msg) Paul tells us, “Companions as we are in this work with you, we beg you, please don’t squander one bit of this marvelous life God has given us”

Psalm 90:12  Teach us to number our days and recognize how few they are: help us to spend them as we should

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

Leave a Reply

