Celebrate Dr. Seuss

Standard

Dr. Seuss would have been 108 this week. Did you know his books have sold over 200 million copies? While he is best known for books like Green Eggs And Ham, Cat In The Hat, and The Lorax, there is a lesser known work that inspired me. In A People House has been a favorite since earliest memory. If you haven’t read this with your kids, the text is simple. The drawings bright. It isn’t just the words that capture my imagination, it is the cover. A finger directed toward a house. Was this when my passion for home began? Amid simple concepts? Read to me by patient parents? (And you have to be patient to read a child Dr. Seuss books over and over. And over….because that is what will happen)

Read to children. It is a sad thing when an adult wistfully admits no one read to them. There were no words sparking imaginations, filling heads with moving pictures to lead into adventure. The power of words changes lives. Offers dreams. Teaches. Inspires. Captures us. Be the voice that gives this gift.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

Leave a Reply

