ATC’s For Silly Grownups

Standard

Ok, now that the kids are busy, try out a few techniques for yourself. It might be surprising how fun it is to just be silly. No purpose.

Here is a good demonstration of that. The ATC above is a fast and simple example of cutting out part of an ad for a base. Tearing out words from a garage sale book made me giggle. Add a little glitter and paint and project is complete. Does it make sense? Does it have to?

This ATC is a work in progress. I started with the words and looked for a magazine picture that might “go”.  I was keeping my eye out for something that reflected waving and time. The colors didn’t complement each other, so I watered down some paint to do overlays and this is what I have so far. I might outline the large shapes in black, or leave as is.  I share this one to say…you can’t mess up. No such thing. Just layer more over anything that you  don’t like. More paint, more paper, it all adds to the charm of the finished product. It is freeing to just let things take shape, any shape.

My kids thought this was decidedly “unfunny”. I cracked myself up, pardon the pun.

The details don’t reflect well in the photo, but the theme is the Hand of God… lots of depth, layers and glitter (did you hear me sigh with delight at the word glitter?)

Here is an ATC with some experimental base layering of Gesso (love, love, love it. Expensive…use 40% off coupon for Hobby Lobby or Micheal’s). Some painting felt too flat, so I dipped the brush in water and smeared it around. Love the results, used cheap acrylic paints, and stamped a sentiment. A note here…stamping on texture doesn’t always leave clear words.

My favorite of the day. Watered down paint, a stamp, and painting in just a few of the details in red and yellow. Some glitter in the sky, delightful. Simple. Did I mention simple? Seriously, like a 5 minute card. If it feels hard to do at first, stick with it. We aren’t used to just doing stuff that makes no sense or serves no purpose as adults. It is worth the time investment to unlearn all the art rules and relearn that art is fun, therapeutic even.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

Leave a Reply

