Earl Scruggs And His Banjo

Standard

As a lover of music, I was delighted to find on Netflix The Flatt & Scruggs TV Show which ran from the mid 1950’s to the early 1960’s. With so much crud disguised as entertainment these days, the simple premise of this show is good music. It is family friendly and the live commercials for Martha White’s Hot Rize flour are a hoot.

Part of the appeal for me is being reminded of my Grandpa. He gave me an Ernest Tubbs tape when I was around 18. In the 80’s. You can imagine my New Wave heart fluttering. I did hold onto that tape for many years though. It was something he wanted to share with me, and it’s value grew in time. Memories of his delight in certain things stay with me.

Earl Scruggs passed away this year, leaving behind a legacy of one of the best banjo players, credited with changing bluegrass music forever. Check out the show, enjoy the music and appreciate the sounds that are thankfully recorded to enjoy today. Sometimes, the “oldies” shine the brightest.  A memorable example of bluegrass history.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

