Help With Homeschool Planning

Standard

Every year I spend countless hours planning for the upcoming school year. It is a lot. Of. Work. Partly due to making things harder than they have to be.  I found something this year that has made the planning less stressful, in fact there are several books that I think would be very helpful to new homeschooling families, or those with younger children. Wish I had found them years ago. Number one is the planning book…

1. Debra Bell’s Ultimate Planner series. We have used other calendars, unsuccessfully, but this one is different. The focus is teaching the parent how to implement self teaching methods to the student. It walks you through steps in a way that I haven’t seen in other products through the years. This product is worth every penny. For high school planning, this resource is valuable! If you are starting out with High School, it is worthwhile to check out books specifically devoted to that age group. Debra Bell has the most exhaustive one I have seen.

2. The Checklist by Cindy Downes. Buy it. It is spendy, and fantastic. It will help you organize learning as it happens, it is phenomenal, truly.

3, While I didn’t read the entire book, I could see how helpful it would be do someone considering this journey within a few chapters. Homeschooling: Take a Deep Breath, You Can Do This! by Terrie Lynn Bittner covers every topic you would have questions about. Page 322-323 contain especially well written answers to the most common question. If you  homeschool already, you are familiar with the “S” question.

4. Educating the WholeHearted Child by Clay and Sally Clarkson is the one gem I wish I had found 10 years ago. I would have used it for the foundation of all our years, I can’t recommend it highly enough. I would recommend anything by Sally Clarkson for mothers, period. She is a treasure.

5. Decided at the last second this was too good to leave off the list. Homeschooling moms need encouragement. Here it is, by a refreshingly honest author, Jackie Wellwood. One Hundred and One Devotions for Homeschool Moms, buy one for a friend too if you are able. It will be appreciated!

I came across a listmania on Amazon.com that has an excellent compilation of choices for further reading. http://www.amazon.com/Thinking-of-Homeschooling/lm/RRV240ECBOS09/ref=cm_lmt_srch_f_2_rsrsrs0

Also, check out a more extensive list on the top of my blog, the tab is labled Home Education. If you have specific questions I can help you with, please send me an email. God bless you on this amazing journey. The fruit becomes abundant in the teen years, don’t be afraid to go for it!

One response »

  1. Pingback: 12 Popular Posts From 2012- A Peaceful Way To Enjoy The Evening

Leave a Reply

