Run With Me

Standard

Ever observed how kids run towards things?

Not stopping to worry about what they will do when they arrive. No concern over what they will find ahead. They push forward with delightful expectation. Somewhere along the path into adulthood many lose this drive. We would do well to consider the ways of the child and relearn to run.

I have lived on both sides of this perspective. It used to be easy to run ahead withouth thought to the future. I saw a goal and I ran. Sometimes what I found was not what I expected. I learned fear. I became scarred.

Not running wasn’t the answer, there was no safety found there. Too much thought about what lies ahead stifles the gift of forward motion.  We can not live an abundant, rich life without moving forward.

I have a healthier balance now, and a trust in Jesus, who runs with me. In fact, He has run ahead and beckons us to follow.

I am off and running. The chains break off and fall into the dust behind me. Run with me. Let us seek what is ahead and not turn back.

12-14 I’m not saying that I have this all together, that I have it made. But I am well on my way, reaching out for Christ, who has so wondrously reached out for me. Friends, don’t get me wrong: By no means do I count myself an expert in all of this, but I’ve got my eye on the goal, where God is beckoning us onward—to Jesus. I’m off and running, and I’m not turning back.—Philippians 3:13-14

 

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

One response »

  1. That is a great metaphor…a child running towards life. I think the fear drops off again when we are older and have less to lose. Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. It is a joy to meet you !

Leave a Reply

