31 Days To Decorating With (Re) Purpose- Entry Table

Standard

In trying to decide how to proceed without baring all the “lived in” about home, I am tossing that  idea to the curb. Regardless of how the house looks, or if I have dusted, or even if I never finished the bottom of projects… keeping it real here. Before I knew anything about decorating, I had a deep desire to have a nice comfortable home. For fun, maybe I will post pictures of what NOT to do! So, lets start in the entry way and I will show you around.

Entry way tables can be super expensive. While I hoped for a place to welcome guests to set down a purse or hold  my husband’s keys at night, it has never been in our budget to just “buy” extraneous things like that. Here is what I came up with:

Can you guess what it is? An old fish tank stand I got at a yard sale for $2. Look around your house, your parent’s garage, on Craig’s list. Have an open mind and remember to focus on one thing: could it be a base?

It was bronze and quite ugly, so I used some leftover spray paint to help brighten up our dark entry way. Then I hit the hardware store and purchased two floor tiles for around 50 cents each.

It was that simple, less than $3. If you have to buy paint, there are brands that start at Wal-mart as low as $1.  Compared to $75 and up, this is a great deal. Not fancy, but unexpected.  The tiles are heavy enough that no further effort was needed. Place and use.

You might find several things that are “unexpected” in our home. This is what makes it personal. It is fun to have people walk in and be surprised as guests. And for the home dwellers? It is great to have furniture that it is not a concern if toys hit it, or drinks get placed on it. That is the way we like to live, tidy and casual. Welcome to our home… you are welcome to come back tomorrow!

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

2 responses »

  1. Christa…..I have never noticed what your entry way table was made of before. It always looked like just a very inviting space to me. You are SO creative. Your house just says, “Life!”

Leave a Reply

