31 Days To Decorating With (Re) Purpose- Old Windows

Standard

Glad you are here! As you enter our living room there is a half wall separating it from the kitchen.

One of the first decorating moves that we put up in this house was an old window as a room “divider”. The space felt looming and empty, and this is the thing people always comment on when they walk in for the first time.  (Excuse the lighting, the weather has been dark all week)  Old windows are popular, easy to find everywhere from garage sales to boutique stores.

This window was in a building to be demolished, and it found new life as a constantly changing picture frame display. Since we live far from family and friends across the country now, seeing them every day has been comforting.  Here is what it looks like from the kitchen…

You’ll find our house is colorful as we walk through, but I wanted the focus to be on the project. Keep your eyes open for windows, I just finagled another from a friend’s garage yesterday where a stack was leaning against the wall. This was easy to install, we simply drilled holes for a few plant hooks at the top, added some chain which is sold by the foot at hardware stores, and attached to another hook in the ceiling. Be careful to locate a stud, this is heavy. It needs the extra support.

Some other ideas for old windows? Cover each pane with coordinating papers for a wall display. Hang in a room without much natural light, a bathroom for example. I might do that with ours, blowing up a picture of the outdoors, and carefully cutting the pieces to glue to the glass panes. Lean one on a porch as part of a decorative vignette. Several large ones could even be used as a standing room divider if connected with long hinges.

I am a sucker for windows. They draw me in and instantly a story comes to mind of who looked in, who looked out. They seem to carry their own personality, which is a welcome element to any room.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

2 responses »

  1. Oh I totally love old windows! I have a few that I’ve been carting around for a few years. We just moved and I’m trying to figure out what I really want to do with them. I love that they tell a story…I often wonder what mother looked through them at her children playing outside. What was her story? I love THINGS that tell a story.

    • I know what you mean! I was driving yesterday with a friend and saw an old building being torn down. I immediately pulled over with a leaping heart to photograph them. My friend was a good sport, this wasn’t the first time 🙂

Leave a Reply

