Five Minute Fridays- Go

Standard

GO.

When I think of this word, my automatic inclination borders on digging in my heels to STAY.   When I was young I wanted to go. And go. And go. The more I went, a funny thing happened. The desire for community and familial roots became stronger than that urge. As it turns out, this longing to Stay was counter to God’s directives to Go.

As we grew in our faith, the fine tuning made it impossible to doubt when God was calling us to pack up and go. Trust me here, none of this made sense otherwise. 6-7 moves within 6 short years. We certainly didn’t get the support we hoped for on earth. Most people thought we were nuts. And we felt nuts.

We chose to be obedient. There is no other way to peace, and when God calls you to Go, I heartily encourage you to follow the directive and do it. Even when the road is rough, and doubt creeps in. Even when fear paralyzes your heart and you see no way to make things work. Still I say Go.

I can’t begin to count how many unexpected surprises waited around those difficult corners. We still have to wonder why God said Go sometimes. Still fight the fear and doubt, for certainly the road hasn’t been easy. Yet, we see the clear hand of blessing. The kinds of people that surround us offer comfort and love. Our faith has been strengthened and our trust in His plan grows. It isn’t the easy way. But again, scripture doesn’t promise it will be. Perhaps the easy way would have led to less character moldability. Less trust in his leading. I don’t know. I have learned there is no benefit in dwelling there, it only leads to gloom.

If you hear Go, pack your bags and head out.

Isaiah 41:13 “For I am the Lord, your God, who takes hold of your right and says to you, Do not fear. I will help you”

Want to join the flash mob of writers for Five Minute Friday? You can join in here for Lisa-Jo Baker’s amazing motivation
Five Minute Friday

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

2 responses »

  1. Nedwbie to #fiveminutefridays here! Glad to connect! Thanks for sharing this. I am in the midst of “GOING” myself! God has very loudly told me to GO so that I can focus on my family more and I continue to have those doubts. Reading this reminded me to just trust and “pack my bags!!” Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

