Daily Archives: October 7, 2012

31 Days Of Decorating With (Re) Purpose- Mason Jars

Standard

Since it Sunday, rest day, I will keep this one short. Chances are a good many of you have a small stash of Mason Jars. They aren’t just good for food storage, and I don’t know if I have used it yet for that purpose! Our mantle holds three right now. Two of them are filled with small amber jewels, and the middle one holds metal acorns. I was going to come back and finish out this display, but decided it just fine already.

If you have jars put them out, don’t let them collect dust tucked away. Play around with the contents. In the winter I might add some epsom salt and candles, I did that last year courtesy of a Pintrest idea. Here are a few other things I do with them:

One night I really looked for ways to not only decorate, but beautify things that otherwise are not attractive. Cough drops, cotton products, etc. can make messes in the closet, so in a jar they went. There are a few powders I need to keep on the counter in the kitchen. They are much better looking in mason jars. I store buttons and other small items, full view, in my office so that I can enjoy the colors. And a favorite gift from a friend stays out year round, antique ornaments in a very old jar. Use them for decor and then find an unexpected way to make a practical display of everyday necessities.

31 Days of Decorating With (Re) Purpose- Old Cupboard Doors

Standard

My all time favorite (re) purpose project allows constant flexibility. Several years ago a friend called me up, telling me she had some old cupboard doors she was getting rid of. She knew I’d want them. And I did.

Read the rest of this entry