31 Days of Decorating With (Re) Purpose- Old Cupboard Doors

Standard

My all time favorite (re) purpose project allows constant flexibility. Several years ago a friend called me up, telling me she had some old cupboard doors she was getting rid of. She knew I’d want them. And I did.

I left the edges as is, scratched up and dented. I painted the inset panels in various colors, which can be changed with acrylic paint inexpensively. They were heavy, so we used  screws that would accommodate that.

Using 12 x 12 scrapbook page protectors, simply trimming off the hole punch ends, offers a creative transparent frame. To hold them to the frame, binder clips screwed in with small metal washers holds them perfectly.

You’ll notice I even left the handles and hinges on. I like that character, and for a recovering perfectionist, this is the way to decorate!

People are drawn to these changing displays, curious, asking if we made the frames. Always, surprised to find out what they actually are.

This, to me, has been a fantastic way to both share my hobby of scrapbooking with guests…as well as functional usage of cast offs.

Come by tomorrow as the 31 days series continues along with over 1,000 other bloggers. You can check it out here over at The Nester.

3 responses »

  1. I love reading what you are doing and remembering a time when I was able to do these kind of projects. It is fun to see what might have been if I hadn’t become ill from a toxic mold exposure at work and developed severe mold and chemical sensitivities. Thank you for sharing. I am truly enjoying what you do.

    • I am so sorry to hear of your illness! I have struggled for a very long time with health, and I feel for you, truly. May you be blessed by coming to visit my blog, thank you for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

