31 Days Of Decorating With (Re) Purpose- Wrapping Paper Isn’t Just For Presents

Standard

We generally have several rolls of paper tucked away, waiting for special occasions. It occurred to me, that beautiful paper deserves a home other than the trash can. It is often expensive, and high quality paper. Let’s look at two ways I am using it besides gift wrap:

Project One is a large frame that I have reused several times. Artwork is costly, this isn’t, yet gives your home updates with 20 minutes of effort. (Please excuse grainy pics, my normal camera is having issues)

The frame is large and had a mat already. I backed it with nice metallic gold wrapping paper. To create a seasonal look, I blew up a favorite photo, mounted it on a piece of cardstock and added a few small odds and ends. The only extra cost to change is  the 8 x 10 picture. Here is a closeup:

Wrapping paper can be used for modge podge-ing onto just about anything. If you need a temporary fix, let me show you an ongoing project I am working on. Haven’t finished because it takes some time to move the books, and I am not sure about the paper yet. This is a set of bookshelves in a room with less natural light.  Being black sucks the brightness right out.

I had the idea to back the shelves with paper and see how it looked. I know I could clear some shelves off and attain more visual space, but, let’s be real here. No way! I treasure my books and need to work around them. What do you think of this?

We’ll see how it works out… What I hope you’ll take away from today’s post is…try it! Always just try it and see how things feel. Not all ideas are great, but it is amazing how delightful decorating becomes when we take chances. Nothing is permanent. These sort of projects are meaningful because personal touches are being added. Remember, we don’t just decorate to follow design rules. We are creating homes. Unique. Try something new today. Tell me how you liked it…

As always, I encourage you to check out the vast array of subjects offered to you in this 31 series by over 1,000 bloggers. Here is the link, see you there.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

2 responses »

  1. I am really enjoying your posts regarding decorating with re-purpose, Christa! I have a cluttered mess over here because I want to hold onto everything that means something to me. I’ve re-purposed a few things, but your ideas are inspiring me to get creative again. In fact…..I pulled out my other old typewriter (I already have one on a book shelf in the family room) and am ready to do something with it. 🙂 You could write a book on this, you know. 😉

Leave a Reply

