31 Days Of Decorating With (Re) Purpose- Painting Old Metal Desks

Standard
31 Days Of Decorating With (Re) Purpose- Painting Old Metal Desks

This week I am going to focus on a few projects that came about with the help of friends. Today I will share my desk. Many years ago I found this old, heavy, silver monstrosity at a rummage sale for $10. It is very sturdy, typical for its time.

I  love color, and one day rounded up a few friends to come help paint it. We didn’t know if it would work, but just went for it. It.was.a.big.project.

Big as in one day, but much funner with friends! I was facing a very difficult time. These women, Laura and Michelle, circled me and spoke love into my life through a pile of metal. A tangible thing I could carry along on life’s journey.

Laura added encouraging words along the rim a little later. Oh, and a surprise I didn’t see until much later underneath. Funny girl.

If you come across something that catches your eye, trust that you will find its true purpose soon enough. I experience love every day from far away friends as I use this trusty piece of furniture.

As always, I encourage you to check out the vast array of subjects offered to you in this 31 series by over 1,000 bloggers. Here is the link, see you there.

5 responses »

  1. Although the desk remains one of my all-time favorite makeovers, what I cherish most about projects like these is the time spent with friends – we had so much fun – and the memories that will last as long or longer than that sturdy old desk!

    By the way, how’s that gum holder working out for you these days?

Leave a Reply

