31 Days Of Decorating With (Re) Purpose- Picture Frames

Standard

Only a few more days left in the 31 days series, I hope you are enjoying it. It has been a lot of emails if you are a regular subscriber, thanks for hanging in there.

Today we are going to look at a way to reuse picture frames. I had several frames, in different colors. In an attempt to make them look unified, I painted them all white. The look was a bit stark, so I experimented with adding minimal amounts of contrast.

In the first photo set, a white frame is textured using basic acrylic craft paint and rubber stamps. Using a paint brush to apply a thin coat onto the stamp, I tried it out on the backside first. I didn’t want it to be too thick. Then random prints are made in varying pressures to have a casual feel.  (Not sure why the pics are uploading upside down and sideways. They aren’t that way on my computer! Sorry about that)

      

To make some simple artwork in the following frame, the base is a simple piece of textured swiss dot cardstock. A spray glitz, a printed computer sentiment, and rub ons completed the piece.

 

Lastly, I tried using glimmer mist to spritz on an actual frame. Taking a paper towel, I gently rubbed the color to remove large globs. Then, another light spray from further away to provided smaller spots.

The details, disappointingly, aren’t translating well on pictures. The results are visually pleasing. The bigger picture, is that textures and colors of original frames all have the capacity to tie together and be cohesive. Try something new with paint, use stickers/ rub-ons/ printed graphics for artwork, or use a common photographic theme.

In our case, the pictures all tie in to my marriage relationship. Memories that remind my husband and I before we go to sleep,  of “us”. Mix up groupings and add unexpected elements. Another special touch in my grouping you’ll notice is the handicraft of my Grandma. She created the needlework, one of three, for each of her daughters. When my aunt passed on, I became the recipient of her piece.

Everything here means something to us. Focus on adding personal touches in your space.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

One response »

  1. Pingback: Swiss Dot Printed

Leave a Reply

