Golden Fall Sunshine

Standard

I played around with Filtermania 2 on my camera phone, and was surprised to see that it captured the essence of Fall sunlight. This morning I was walking around my neighborhood enjoying the characteristics of a midwest October. In our flat subdivision, there is one place where the sidewalk dips…the leaves captured into a shallow concrete pond. Crunching beneath my feet. The sound of wind sweeping through the trees, tugging onto aging foliage. Single leaves cartwheeled across the street, the crisp edges tapping, clapping. In the corn fields a huge machine, red against the golden cornstalks, hustled to harvest its goods  onto a waiting truck. Dust suspends into hazy clouds behind it, contrasted sharply by the intense blue sky. My mind struggles to commit as much of the sensory experience to memory as possible. The brilliance of this season is anticipated, blazing through the landscape and distracting me from commitments.

I don’t want to miss a moment. A breeze. A sound.

I want to remember the feel of Autumn, close my eyes with my face to the sun, the golden color still permeating my lids. Dazzling me.

How beautifully leaves grow old.  How full of light and color are their last
days.  ~John Burroughs

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

