31 Days Of Decorating With (Re) Purpose- Kwagala Project

Standard

Today is my birthday. I am going to show you a special gift I received, and explain how this fits my theme for 31 Days.

It is a twist, going from decorating my home to adorning my temple.

My body is the housing for The Holy Spirit. I am decorating it with repurposed items, look….

These beads were made by hand from a rescued victim of sex traficking. Rescued.

She is repurposed into someone with hope. Using recylced paper to make beads that she can sell and help provide, that can help heal. The friend who gave me this necklace today, knew this was my favorite color. That I liked necklaces. More importantly, that the topic of  sexual slavery is near to my heart. When I decorate my body with this necklace, I will touch the beads, and treasure the knowledge that someone rolled up hope into each bead. From her hands to my heart. And someday, I pray, from my hands to her heart will the blessing return. You can find out more at www.kwagalaproject.org   When I wear this necklace, I will celebrate. In her honor.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

7 responses »

  1. Happiest of birthdays to you, dear Christa! I have been so blessed by all your blog activity lately………..thank you for all you have shared………..I am sad to see the “31 Days….” end :0(. May you have a day overflowing with all that makes you happy!! And a year to follow filled with much health, happiness, and love…………….Be blessed and say blessed! ~Cyndi

    • oops! how ’bout……….”Be blessed and STAY blessed!”…………….you can SAY blessed, too, if you’d like! ;0) After all, we are all blessed!!! :0) Happy day to you!

  2. Well, I can tell you have good taste! I just linked up to the Allume Homefries blog hop and found you, and we have the same theme!!! Great minds think alike. I am looking forward to reading your posts, and I hope you check my blog out as well. So alike…yet so very different:) Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

