Let Your Homes Speak Christmas

Standard
I was 14 or so when the collection of Christmas items began. My BFF and I exchanged Santa items in bold red and green for years, every chance possible. We even at one point had a Santa shower curtain and toilet seat cover. Tacky, I know.
We were young and it was the late 80’s. Enough said.
As my faith began to grow, my focus changed. I am not anti-Santa, rather, pro-Jesus. The collection shifted and reduced to special pieces that reflected our values differently.
We wanted our home to be a place of rest, peace. Not just jolly plastic figurines.
I was psyched when Dayspring came out with this Redeemed Christmas line. The last few years a gnawing awareness of a loose Christ centered focus irritated me. The temptations and distractions around us can easily jar our focus repeatedly.
I decided to start countering those distractions with purposeful placement of items that remind me of what, whom we are celebrating.
IMG_3476
When people walk up to our house; friends, neighbors, the UPS man… they know something is different. We are celebrating something here. One definition of Celebration states that we observe an occasion with appropriate ceremony or festivity.
IMG_3477
In my kitchen I have an Advent calendar that is large and easily read. I keep it there to possibly start conversations with guests, that is true. Let me be frank here, the bottom line reason is not just for guests to see these Christ reminders, though I hope they do and are blessed.
IMG_3479
It is for me. My eyes. My soul. My peace. My focus.   So that those “My”experiences are continually pointed back to the source. That the “My” becomes “Thy”.
IMG_3480
Trinkets and stuff? In the larger picture, of course. But in my immediate picture, they truly do help to observe proper ceremony and reverence.
*Thank you to Dayspring for sending these items to review. They are delightful, quality made things that will last for many years
About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

Leave a Reply

