Stopping For Directions

Standard

IMG_1023

Alice in Wonderland:

“Read the directions and directly you will be directed in the right direction.”

Do you, like me, spend time rushing in the direction of the urgent only to find yourself misguided?  I feel my stress levels rising on days when I don’t understand where I am going.

Logically, it is all there. The calendar squares bulge with reminders of appointments, practices, meetings. Fun stuff is written in the teensiest font, desperate to find its space around the bold headlines.

Lately I feel like I am missing the point. Again. I’ve been here before, likely you’ve joined me. We glance this way and that as we grab our keys and head out. Little forethought is allowed, except for strategic planning. How to make it work… 

For me, faith is the grounding of life. When I don’t make time to stop and read the directions, my days end up overcommitted and unfullfilling. I can’t afford to waste time (=life) not knowing my plan. My purpose.  When I start my day committed instead of reactive, days are fruitful. I am directed in the right direction.

What is the point? We can all “make it work” to achieve check marks, a day finished, so to speak. That is not enough for me, I hope it isn’t enough for you.

When a day is offered to God, I achieve the same amount of work perhaps, but I am satisfied. Even in tiredness. A fullness of being rules. Not a frazzled, verge of tears mess. I have a choice each day, every moment of stopping for directions.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

4 responses »

  1. As I drove past the church where my granddaughter goes to preschool this morning on the way to my doctor appointment I read the sign that is always out and visible. The sign read: Where are you going? — GOD

    I think this kind of goes along with what you are talking about. Where are we going when we try to over comit ourselves to projects. I was supposed to bake cookies in my kitchen this Friday. As I looked around my house and the boxes of Christmas gifts I ordered sitting in the floor, the boxes of Christmas cards sitting on my office desk, the mess in the kid’s playroom not to mention the mess in my kitchen I became anxious. I phoned my dear friend and asked to change the date. We agreed on Monday. My daughter is arriving next week and I have spent the last many days helping my daughter with sick kids and being sick myself with a sinus infection coming on. So where am I going? I am going to slowly tackle projects over the next few days and take care of myself. Come Monday my house will be cleaned and my kitchen fit for baking. There is no rush in life. I remind myself when I see cars passing by me in a no passing zone flying to who knows where. I always remind myself that there is no place that I have to be that requires such hurry or craziness. The point is to get there.

    Thank you for sharing this. I think it reminds us to slow down.

      • I think we tend to get so geared up to going going going and doing doing doing that we just wear ourselves out and for what? Back in the day before becoming ill, I had an At A Glance weekly calendar. My days were packed with appointments for me, the kids, their activities, my board meetings, my PTA meetings, my 4H sewing classes, etc. etc. etc. Without that darn calendar I never knew where I was supposed to be at any given time. I still have one of those calendars and it was valuable during all my time in Dallas to keep track of treatment sessions. Now mine shows my doctor appointments and birthdays. Sometimes I don’t look at it for days. I have been trying to blog every few days but I realize that sometimes it just isn’t in me to do it that often or my brain just isn’t working well enough to get what I want to say down. I guess we just have to let things go and things will happen when they are supposed to. I truly love your blog.

Leave a Reply

