I Don’t Want To Brag, But Procrastination Is My Forte’

Standard

 The sweet stress of procrastination. Mmm. Does it make you feel warm and peaceful inside?

No?

Okay, I admit that might be a stretch. But is it all bad? Putting off until tomorrow what can be done today?

P1120019

This is my first adult memory of biting off more than I could chew creatively. With zero cross stitch experience, I confidently purchased this counted kit to make for my husband. Oh, not just zero experience in that, but mostly zero in all handiwork arts.

I made it through all of one row or so. Then, like any self-respecting quitter would do, I called Grandma. And passed it on. Then, she passed it on, until eventually my aunt saved Christ-a-mas.

The years have passed and I have become proficient at taking on countless more projects that I have zero experience in. Only now, I don’t quit. I may never finish, but I am okay with that. Process is a pleasing, albiet sometimes frustrating, place to sit.

Why you ask? (I asked myself the same question)

I love to learn, to experience, to create. I am not afraid, generally, of trying new things. I also am not afraid of dumping what doesn’t fulfill me. I used to wonder if that made me quitter supreme. In some instances, yes.

Mostly? No. It makes me creative, delightfully so.

That procrastination often drives me nuts, but only me. I don’t leave others hanging. I don’t promise things and not deliver to commitments.  For my eyes only though, procrastination abounds. And I am learning to look at the positives.

My kind of delay involves careful thought, consideration of many angles, all potential possibilities. I am a deep thinker and that can take a while. Putting off until tomorrow… if the creativity isn’t ready to display itself, then tomorrow it is.

I’ll be frank, sometimes this can be frustrating, the inability to focus and produce. I seldom have one thing going, in any area. 7 books reading at the same time. 4 projects all clamoring for space and attention. You get the picture. But…

When it comes? It will be worth the wait. I know this now, and I appreciate the surprise my own deferment can bring.

 How does your brain flow?

9 responses »

    • I would be interested to take the test… some friends were just discussing this last week. I am not sure how I’d score. I am this way with creative ventures, but boy…if I have a class to teach or something I struggle doing it makes my skin crawl to keep thinking about it. Rather get THAT done 🙂

      Hmm, on further consideration, I guess I procrastinate that too, sometimes. Preference = reality? What is funny Kathleen, if I am a team player, I have a low tolerance for others procrastinating. Not an equal opportunity delayer, ha ha!

  1. I, too, would love to see your ‘type’ on the Myers Briggs test! (I’m rather obsessive about personality analysis!) Like Kathleen, I am a ‘J’ who can’t handle procrastination well. For me this means that I don’t even start things for fear of not having time to finish. As a result, my brain is crammed full of ideas that never get birthed. I think that if you could step inside my mind, it would look like a hoarder’s house! Any flashes of brilliance I may have get buried almost instantly. Sigh.

  2. I’m sorry. I hit “comment” to put this under your blog entry on the snow, but it said “couldn’t find page” :(.

    I have an aunt who lives in Portland. It’s a lovely city and I always enjoyed going to visiting her. When I was a teenager, we lived up in Olympia, Washington. It was a gorgeous state and sometimes I miss it. I don’t miss all the rain, though. (Which is hugely ironic since I later went to live in England!)

    I also really liked your entry on the Meyers-Briggs test. Many years ago I went to a psychologist and took the real thing. Turns out I was ENFP, about as extroverted as you can get. I remember the shrink looking at the results sheet and saying, “I’ll bet you’re a real handful!” I decided to take that as a compliment.

    Now you’ve inspired me. I think I’ll write about my own MB experience. If I do, I’ll link back to your post!

  3. Forgot to add, since I’m a perceiver, too, I’m also a master of procrastination. Like everything else, it has its good and bad sides. I like how you pointed out that it means valuing commitment. That’s a very good observation. I hate breaking my word, so I’m very careful about what I say I’ll do. I used to be really bad at that, like most women, but I’ve learned the hard way to say “no” sometimes for my own peace of mind.

    On the other hand, like Rebeca said, my head is stuffed with all these great ideas that don’t get birthed since I float easily to the next one. Starting my own blog really took some monumental discipline, and I’m still having to make myself work at it.

Leave a comment