What the INFP ?!?

Standard

I’m down with the MB, showing off my PT…”

As in Meyers Briggs Personality Traits, um, what were you thinking? Geez.

According to  http://www.personality-power-for-everyday-living.com/INFP.html  INFPs ( typically display the following characteristics:

  • Is  naturally empathetic and compassionate
  • Is quietly and very idealistically watching everything
  • Is naturally skilled communicators drawn to new ideas
  • Is future oriented may struggle with in-the-moment practical thinking
  • Is looking for meaning in absolutely everything and everyone
  • Needs to believe they have contributed something to life
  • Is deeply concerned with harmony and maintaining harmony is critical
  • May appear at times to be aloof and cool, but still water run deep
  • Does not have great respect for rules and regulations per se
  • Is typically attracted to the abstract and symbolic
  • Usually very open minded with a classless approach to people/society

Are they saying we INFPs are classless as in class-less? Or non classy?  Unassigning class? 🙂   Whichever, this looks pretty good.

Oohhh, under stress we also are known for :

  • May bit off more than they can chew when under stress
  • Will become rigid and perfectionist, feel very inadequate and self-critical
  • May begin to take everything very personally and feel hurt  (don’t make me turn off the comments and disable my email)

My favorite summary was on Personality Page.  Bizarrely accurate. Made sense why we make each other nuts when we don’t understand the core of who someone is created to be.

Curious about your character traits that might describe you? Check out Personality Pathways.com for a free inventory. There seem to be 16 combinations, and it was fun to see how close the results were.

I was relieved to find out that INFPs make good writers. At least I am not passionate about the wrong field!

 What is your opinion about these tests, take a quiz and come back here to share the results.

 

 

 

12 responses »

  1. I am an oddie–an INTJ. These kinds of analytical tests were made for me! Please Understand Me 2 really digs into this. The author’s last name is Keirsey and he has a website devoted to this as well. Fascinating stuff. Doesn’t surprise me at all that you are an ‘NF’ Christa! It also explains why I have always been so drawn to you–your intuitive nature flows with my own, yet you possess a natural compassion and warmth that I lack. Thanks for doing it–I love to analyze and understand my friends better! 🙂

    • So tell me, what makes you an oddie? I realize if nobody was analytical and we all were dancing around happily oblivious creating art, things would fall apart. Seriously. I should say, THANK YOU

      • NT’s are the least common of the types. I laughingly tell my friends that if there were more of us, we would be the mad scientists that take over the world! :). God knew what percentage of types this world needs–it is beautiful to see the complexity of personalities and how we all work together.

  2. This is fun! The items you listed are what make you a great writer!

    Ok, as an INTP person I will analyze what I have just written here, contemplate what it will sound like two days from now, mentally examine how others will interpret what I wrote, use a thesaurus to find a better word for analyze and upon endless edits finally submit. After I press the button I will find an error then wonder why space-time is curved and not in a triangular shape like a bow wave from a sonic boom.

    Thanks Christa for sharing and giving my husband something to laugh at as he read what I wrote!!

    • My husband’s response when I read your post to him: “I really like that person!” I laugh because he is an INTP. Great to know we NTs are not alone! 🙂

  3. Well, I wish I could dig up the results when I actually took this test in college. I’m thinking it is right on about me: ISFP I remember thinking “HOW could it say I am introverted?” But, of course it’s not referring to my loud, obnoxious side! So, we’re the same, except for the “N”

Leave a comment